Severn News

Grimes Named National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalist

The National Merit Scholarship Program has named one Severn student, Whitney Grimes ‘24, as a semifinalist in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Competition.
Semfinalists are the highest scoring students in the state on the PSAT/NMSQT test (in the top 1% of all test takers). The qualifying scores in Maryland are among the highest in the country. This year approximately 16,000 semifinalists were named and will have the opportunity to compete to become finalists.
In addition, the following thirteen Severn School students have been named as Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program:
  • Dylan Aubin ‘24
  • Casey Bond ‘24
  • Benjamin Campion ‘24
  • Trent Griger ‘24
  • Erik Maltz ‘24
  • Aliza Monaldo ‘24
  • Amelia Robinson ‘24
  • Doug Schwartz ‘24
  • Jagan Som ‘24
  • Emily Sutton ‘24
  • Ben Veiel ‘24
  • James von Rosenvinge ‘24
  • Sean Ward ‘24
Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of all students who took the 2022 PSAT.
Jennifer Gomez-Gallardo ‘24 also received the National Hispanic Recognition Award and Giselle Torain ’24 and Iwinosa Ede-Osifo ‘25 received the National African American Recognition Award.

Lower School

Upper School