New Students

Whitney Grimes ’24 Named National Merit Scholarship Finalist

Whitney Grimes ’24 has been named a Finalist in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program.
Finalists were selected from among the 16,000 Semifinalists announced in September 2023. As a Finalist, Grimes remains in competition for a National Merit Scholarship. In total, nearly $28 million in scholarship money will be awarded this spring. Those Finalists who win a National Merit Scholarship will also earn the official Merit Scholar® title.

The National Merit Scholarship winners for 2024 will be announced beginning in April and concluding in July.

Steps in the 2024 Competition
Over 1.3 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® or ACT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

From over 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 advance to the Finalist level. All National Merit Scholarship  winners will be selected from this group of Finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

About the National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSC)
NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 320 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

Lower School

Upper School