Severn School Inducts Four New Members into the Athletic Hall of Fame

In a special ceremony held Friday, October 6 on Severn’s Teel Campus, Stephen K. Beardmore ’83, Jennifer R. Gens ’02, R. Scott Steele ’76 and Brandon R. Wright ’01 were inducted into Severn’s Athletic Hall of Fame.
Stephen Beardmore ’83 competed in lacrosse and basketball as a Severn student, where he captained the basketball team in his senior year. The Admirals were back-to-back MSA BB Lacrosse Conference Champions in 1982 and 1983. Beardmore was named All-Metro First Team Lacrosse and All-AACO First Lacrosse in both 1982 and 1983. He went on to play lacrosse at the University of Maryland from 1983-1987. Following that he played professional indoor lacrosse, first with the Washington Wave in 1989 and 1990 and then the Baltimore Thunder in 1991 and 1992.  Beardmore later returned to Severn in a new role, serving as the Varsity Boys Lacrosse Coach from 1999-2001 and the Eighth Grade Boys Lacrosse Coach from 2010-2014.

Jennifer Gens ’02 attended Severn’s Upper School from 1998-2002 and during that time she competed with the field hockey and lacrosse teams. Following her graduation from Severn, Gens went on to play lacrosse at Boston College. During her Severn athletics career, Gens earned numerous accolades. In 1999, she was named to the Olympics Development Team and the Baltimore Sun All- County Second Team for field hockey. The following year she was again part of the Olympic Development Team for field hockey, she was elected Captain of the varsity squad and was also named All-State First Team, Baltimore Sun All County First Team, Capital All County First Team, and IAAM All-Star. She was also part of Team Maryland’s field hockey team. In 2001, in addition to earning All-State, All-County and IAAM All-Star honors again, she added a few new achievements to the list. Those awards included All Metro Washington DC Honorable Mention and All Metro Second Team, plus the Team MVP Hodges Award. She also represented Severn at the IAAM Senior All-Star field hockey game. In her senior year, Gens was named captain of the lacrosse team as well, earning All-Metro Honorable Mention, Capital All County Second Team, the Kimball Groundball Award, and the C. Markland Kelly Jr. Athletic Service Award.

R. Scott Steele ’76 is an accomplished athlete with a long list of achievements. As a Severn student, he was part of both the sailing and the wrestling teams. After graduating from Severn, Steele went on to sail competitively at St. Mary’s College, where he was twice named an All-American (1978 and 1979). In 1983, Steele earned a World Champion title for windsurfing. He followed that up by earning a silver medal for windsurfing at the 1984 Olympics. In 1990, he was inducted into the St. Mary’s College Hall of Fame. That same year he was awarded the W. Van Alan Clark Trophy, earned a silver medal at the Goodwill Games, and was a finalist for the James Sullivan Award, earning an Honorable Mention. Steele later applied his experience to coaching, serving as the Sailing Team Head Coach at Georgetown University, a Consultant/Coach for the US Olympic Yachting Committee, and Head Coach of the Severn Sailing team.

Brandon Wright ’01 was a three-sport athlete at Severn School from 1997-2001. He matriculated to Dartmouth College where he played lacrosse and was part of the team that won the Ivy League Lacrosse Championship in 2003. He earned numerous awards in soccer, basketball, and lacrosse as a student-athlete. In 1989 he was named First Team All-Conference for soccer and was also the co-MVP for the Fresh-Soph Lacrosse squad. In his sophomore year, he repeated his First Team All-Conference honors in soccer and also earned First Team All-County honors. He was Captain of the soccer team and named Co-MVP. He also captained the basketball team and earned Second Team All County honors for lacrosse. As a junior, Wright was captain of both the soccer and basketball teams, was again named Co-MVP for soccer and repeated his All-County and All-Conference honors. In his senior year, in addition to being again named Second Team All-County for lacrosse, Wright earned the Severn Class of 2001 Athletic Award and the Dawson Leadership Award.

The Severn Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1981 by Severn’s Athletic Association. The Hall of Fame recognizes those who have contributed to athletic excellence at Severn School as a player, coach or athletic director. At least 10 years must pass between the honoree’s last participation at Severn and his or her induction into the Hall of Fame.

This year’s Hall of Fame festivities included an outdoor reception and a program that featured remarks by the 2023 honorees.

A new class of inductees is generally honored every other year, though this is the first group to be named since 2020 due to the pandemic.

To see all previous athletic Hall of Fame inductees, click here.

Lower School

Upper School